Violet–#AtoZChallenge

violet.jpg

The lovely, lowly violet is now in bloom here in Chicago.  I love to see the yards filled with them.  They grow in my backyard, too, although they haven’t come up yet there.  Their smiling faces make me happy.  They symbolize different things, like spirituality, intuition, modesty, love, affection, nobility.  Violets, with their heart shaped leaves, were also called heart’s ease and used by herbalists to treat heart ailments.  The flowers are edible (although I would only eat them if I knew they were growing in a clean place–probably not around the city).  But they can be candied and used for decorations on desserts–yum.

In Victorian flower language, the blue (I assume that’s the ones I call purple) mean devotion, while white means innocence.

To see what other bloggers are writing about the letter

v

look here.

Thanks for stopping by!

XO

I love to create all sorts of things--art, stories, blogs, handwork, food. Also, I like to teach and coach- to inspire people to trust their own inner knowing and creativity. I try to bring wonder and whimsy wherever I go. In over 20 years as a Waldorf teacher, I had the honor to work with my wee and wondrous children. They remind me every day of what's important

5 thoughts on “Violet–#AtoZChallenge

Leave a comment