Composed Springtime Salad

Note:  I wrote this post a year ago.  I’m not sure why I didn’t post it, but here it is!

Composed salad after I tossed It
Composed salad after I tossed It

I arrived home this evening from a weekend in New York.  I attended my daughter’s graduation from college, which was wonderful.  We also packed up and cleared out her apartment, which was exhausting.  We arrived at La Guardia airport a little before 2 for our flight which was supposed to leave at 4.  As we were checking in at the self check in, one of the men who worked there asked us if we would like to go on the three o’clock flight instead, at no extra charge.  We said, “Sure.”  Then the kind woman at the counter helped us to get our bags under the weight limit so we wouldn’t have to spend an extra $100 (we had a lot of stuff since Rachel was moving back home).  So we got back early and it didn’t cost anything.  This was a miracle!  I have never had anything like that happen at the airport before!

Anyhow, we arrived home tired and hungry, and just on the edge of being crabby (uh oh!)  We had been eating out since I arrived in Poughkeepsie on Thursday–through Monday.  We wanted a home cooked meal that was quick and easy, so we came up with this composed salad that didn’t take too long (although I did eat a banana to tide me over and avoid the oncoming crabbiness) and was delicious. The following recipe serves 2, although we made extra beets, asparagus and boiled eggs so we could have some another day.

Ingredients:

2 hardboiled eggs, sliced–I put the eggs into a pan with cold water to cover and put them on the stove over medium high heat.  Once they started to boil, I lowered the heat so they were simmering and I let them cook, uncovered,  for 12 minutes.  Then I put them, pan and all, in the sink and let them run under the cold water for a minute or two.

1- 5 oz can water packed tuna, drained.

handful of lettuce, any kind

handful of fresh peadpods cooked–I threw them in with the eggs for the last six minutes of cooking time–sliced

Roasted asparagus (preheat oven to 425, break off bottoms, coat with olive oil and sprinkle with salt.  I roasted mine for 15 minutes this time.)

Roasted beets (cooked on a separate pan, but with the asparagus.  We chopped, but did not peel the beets–and used both yellow and red for more color.  The beets took about 20 minutes to roast, but would have been faster if they were cut a little smaller)

6 kalamata olives, pitted

1/2 cucumber, thinly sliced

2 radishes, thinly sliced

3 ramps, thinly sliced

Vinaigrette or other dressing of your choice

Directions:

Arrange ingredients beautifully.  Drizzle with dressing and enjoy–

Actually, the directions are mostly in the ingredients section, so see above!

I love to create all sorts of things--art, stories, blogs, handwork, food. Also, I like to teach and coach- to inspire people to trust their own inner knowing and creativity. I try to bring wonder and whimsy wherever I go. In over 20 years as a Waldorf teacher, I had the honor to work with my wee and wondrous children. They remind me every day of what's important

Leave a comment