Journey to the golden fleece course–2d yarn

 ImageI

I am having a great time with this spinning/creativity class.  This second part was called the road of trials.  One of the things I really enjoyed was doing mind mapping to plan out the yarn.  I have used mind mapping occasionally, usually for writing, but this was really fun, and the yarn turned out different than it would have if I just went for it, which I usually do.  My inspiration was the goddess Iris, the goddess of the rainbow–she is the intermediary between heaven and earth.  I also love the iris flower.  The iris flower essence is used for freeing creativity, for inspiration and for feeling fully alive–pretty great, huh?  So I decided to make 3 singles–one was a rainbow, one represented the rays of the sun and the other represented the storm clouds.  The last 2 also showed the colors of the iris flower.  The one with clouds has locks spun into it which look like clouds, but also like the wings of the goddess.  I liked the idea that you need both clouds–or rain–and sun together to make a rainbow.  Anyhow, here are photos of the 3 yarns before I plied them together:

Image

ImageImage

 

I love to create all sorts of things--art, stories, blogs, handwork, food. Also, I like to teach and coach- to inspire people to trust their own inner knowing and creativity. I try to bring wonder and whimsy wherever I go. In over 20 years as a Waldorf teacher, I had the honor to work with my wee and wondrous children. They remind me every day of what's important

Leave a comment